Skip to content
February 10, 2021

February 1 Ankeny Board of Education Recognitions

The following individuals were recognized at the February 1 Board of Education meeting for their positive impact on the Ankeny Schools Community. We commend them for their great work!

At the February 1 meeting, the Ankeny Board of Education recognized the positive impact of the Southview Middle School Student Equity Faculty Leadership team. The faculty honored for their work were Ms. Davena Johnson, Mr. Michael Allen, Ms. Arin Renaud, Mrs. Nicole Wee, and Mrs. Angela Luttenegger.

The Student Equity Group was initially started in 2019 with Sisters4Success. Brother2Brother was added shortly after. These groups provide a safe and caring environment that allows students of color to support each other and know they are supported by other students and adults in the building.

The Faculty Leaders have helped students develop a sense of confidence and provide strategies for working with teachers and other students within the building while raising awareness and the importance of diversity in the school setting.

Board Recognitions 1

Pictured L to R: Mr. Meyer, Ms. Johnson, Mr. Allen, Ms. Renaud, Mrs. Wee, Mrs. Luttenegger, and school board president Mr. Aaron Johnson.

Andrea Wignall, nurse at Northeast Elementary School, was recognized at the February 1 Ankeny Board of Education meeting.

Wignall was honored for her quick action and calm demeanor in response to a student experiencing severe anaphylaxis. Andrea rapidly administered an Epi pen and the student’s condition began to improve even before the ambulance arrived.

Andrea Wignall

Pictured L to R: Northeast Elementary Principal Laura Ryan, Andrea Wignall, and school board president Mr. Aaron Johnson.