• Hunger Games Series

    by Suzanne Collins Year Published: 2011

    Experience the nerve-shredding, adrenaline-soaked publishing phenomenon of recent years, all in one go. A striking collection of the bestselling Hunger Games trilogy: THE HUNGER GAMES (9781407109084), CATCHING FIRE (9781407109367) and MOCKINGJAY (9781407109374). Set in a dark vision of the near future, a terrifying reality TV show is taking place. Twelve boys and twelve girls are forced to appear in a live event called The Hunger Games. There is only one rule: kill or be killed. When sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen steps forward to take her younger sister's place in the games, she sees it as a death sentence. But Katniss has been close to death before. For her, survival is second nature.

    Comments (-1)
  • Touching Spirit Bear

    by Ben Mikaelson Year Published: 2002 realistic fiction

    After his anger erupts into violence, Cole, in order to avoid going to prison, agrees to participate in a sentencing alternative based on the native American Circle Justice, and he is sent to a remote Alaskan Island where an encounter with a huge Spirit Bear changes his life. This gripping, graphic survival story from an award-winning writer paints an unsparing picture of one violent teen and offers a poignant testimony to the power of pain that can destroy and may also heal.

    Google Books

    Comments (-1)