Return to Headlines

AHS All-State Band and Chorus


All-State Band

All-State Band & Orchestra: Kenidy Moeller, Marianna Elia, Evan Lyons, Mary Wieczorek, Lauren Palkovic


All-State Choir

All-State vocalists: front row (L to R): Lauren McCarville, Maddy Cisneros, Abby Jordan, Lauren Anders, Noah Hackbart

Back row (L to R): Harrison Ingham, Joe McCarville, Dylan Schutjer, Cody Slagter, Alexander Gates


Philip Na

All-State Orchestra (violin): Philip Na, Southview, 9th grade


All-State Alternates

All-State Alternates: Gia Gast and Eric Hayden


ANKENY, Iowa (October 24, 2018) - Sixteen students from Ankeny High School have attained the highest individual honor available to Iowa high school musicians by being selected as members of the All-State Band and Chorus.


All-State Chorus: Lauren McCarville, Noah Hackbart, Joe McCarville, Abby Jordan, Maddy Cisneros, Harrison Ingham, Alexander Gates, Dylan Schutjer, Cody Slagter, Lauren Anders


All-State Band: Kenidy Moeller, Marianna Elia, Evan Lyons


All-State Orchestra: Lauren Palkovic, Mary Wieczorek, Philip Na


All-State Band alternates: Gia Gast, Eric Hayden


“We are proud of all the students who ventured through the process of auditioning for All-State,"  said Ben Walters, head vocal director at Ankeny High School.   "We believe every student who participated became a better musician, and are excited for the sixteen students who were accepted."


The 2018 Festival will celebrate the 72nd anniversary of this prestigious event. District Auditions for the 276-piece All-State Band, 206-piece All-State Orchestra, and 601-member All-State Chorus were Saturday, October 20 in Indianola, Storm Lake, Hampton, Manchester, Atlantic, and Washington.  Approximately 17 percent of the students who audition are selected for membership in the All-State ensembles.


The Festival Concert is November 3 at 7:30 p.m. at Hilton Coliseum on the Iowa State University campus in Ames.  Iowa Public Television will record the concert for re-broadcast. Please check the IPTV website for the exact date and time. This program is under the auspices of the Iowa High School Music Association and the Iowa Music Educators Association.


Directors of the Ankeny High School Band are Joel Poppen and Jennifer Williams. Ben Walters and Mackenzie Walsh are directors of the Ankeny Choral Music program.