Return to Headlines

Student-Athletes Sign National Letters of Intent

ACHS Student-Athletes

ANKENY, Iowa (May 2, 2019) - Thirty-three Ankeny Centennial High School student-athletes were honored with a National Letter of Intent Signing Day ceremony at ACHS. The students were joined by family, friends, and coaches as they were recognized for having been offered collegiate athletic scholarships or preferred walk-on status.

During the ceremony, each student spoke about their time in high school, thanking parents, coaches, teachers, and administrators.  The guest speaker was Nick Easley, University of Iowa football player who recently signed with the Buffalo Bills.


"Congratulations to all of the senior athletes who are choosing to participate at the next level in college," said Scott Garvis, ACHS Activities Director. "We are proud of them and their accomplishments. We're confident that they will continue with even more successes. Their hard work, dedication and discipline have paid off. Congratulations to all."


During the ceremony, additional awards were presented.  Brianna Smith was awarded the E. Wayne Cooley Recognition Award. This honor is given to a female athlete who reflects discipline, perseverance, character, superior athletic skill, leadership, academic achievement and citizenship.


Tyler Rodgers was presented the Bernie Saggau award. This honor recognizes a student who exemplifies a patriotic spirit, strong religious and moral convictions; living and professing qualities of honesty, integrity, and sportsmanship. This award is presented to one student every year in each high school in the state of Iowa.


Josi Magner was awarded the Robert Smiley Scholarship.  This is honor is for senior girls enrolled full-time in an Iowa high school who have demonstrated leadership. The recipient must have a minimum 2.5 GPA and lettered in one varsity sport sponsored by the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union (IGHSAU) each year of high school. There was a special place in Bob Smiley’s heart for the underdog.


In addition, Erin Doruska, Allie Wyckoff, Jonah Vicker, and Cory Prange were presented the Distinguished Athlete Award.  This premiere award is reserved for truly outstanding individuals who have made personal sacrifices in order to promote, develop and positively influence interscholastic athletics for all participants.

Student-athletes who signed their national letters of intent included:

Baseball Cory Prange Grand View University
Basketball Rachel Schon William Jewell College
Cheerleading Kennedy Lehman Iowa State University
Cross Country/Track Jesslyn Gaumer DePauw University
Cross Country/Track Megan Smoldt College of Saint Mary
football Avery Knief St. Cloud State University
Zach Mills Football Wartburg College
Football Tyler Rodgers Iowa State University
Rugby Lane Pruiser Iowa Central CC
Soccer Nick Ashton Central College
Soccer Easton Becker Concordia University-Wisconsin
soccer Michael Brandt Loras College
Soccer Elizabeth Johnson Univ. of Missouri-Kansas City
Soccer McKenzie Langstraat Grand View University
soccer Gillian Nithang Murray State University
Soccer Will Overberg Luther College
Soccer Olivia Wee Iowa State University
Soccer Allie Wyckoff Iowa State University
softball Morgan Carroll Graceland University
Softball Karlie Kaiser North Iowa Area CC
softball Lily King Clarke University
Softball Cassie Severson Central College
Softball Kayla Stone Simpson College
Swimming Erin Doruska Bryant University
Swimming Andrea Rodriguez-Arzola St. Cloud State University
Swimming Adam Vaske Truman State University
Tennis James Cole Grand View University
Track & Field James Jacavino Grand View University
Volleyball Megan Lively University of Central Florida
Volleyball Kenna Sauer University of Missouri
Volleyball Ari Winters University of Denver
Volleyball Aby Wood Waldorf University
Wrestling Eric Owens Iowa State University