Return to Headlines

Three Ankeny Seniors Commended in the 2017 National Merit® Program

Amy Wu
Amy Wu, AHS
Daniel Conway
Daniel Conway, ACHS 
Melodie Mullins
Melodie Mullins, ACHS
(ANKENY, Iowa) September 27, 2016 - Officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation® (NMSC) have announced the names of Commended Students in the 62nd annual National Merit Scholarship Program. A letter of commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, will be presented by the principal to these scholastically talented Ankeny seniors: Amy Wu, Daniel Conway, and Melodie Mullins.
About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2017 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2017 competition by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®).

The NMSC points out that recognizing academically talented students plays a fundamental role in the advancement of educational excellence within the nation. The young people recognized as Commended Students represent some of the best and brightest minds in the country as demonstrated by their outstanding performance in our highly competitive program. The hope of the NMSC is that this recognition can provide them with additional educational outlets and motivate them in their pursuit of academic achievement.