Return to Headlines

Six Ankeny Seniors Commended

 Mia Battani

 ACHS senior Mia Battani


Paige Batten  

ACHS senior Paige Battan


Kaleb Brooks

ACHS senior Kaleb Brooks


Curtis Peters

ACHS senior Curtis Peters


Madison Rubin

AHS senior Madison Rubin


Noah Wright

ACHS senior Noah Wright


(ANKENY, Iowa) September 25, 2017 - Officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation® (NMSC) have announced the names of Commended Students in the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program. A letter of commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, will be presented to these scholastically talented Ankeny seniors: Mia Battani, Paige Battan, Kaleb Brooks, Curtis Peters, Madison Rubin, and Noah Wright.

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2018 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2018 competition by taking the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®).

The NMSC points out that recognizing academically talented students plays a fundamental role in the advancement of educational excellence within the nation. The young people recognized as Commended Students represent some of the best and brightest minds in the country as demonstrated by their outstanding performance in our highly competitive program. The hope of the NMSC is that this recognition can provide them with additional educational outlets and motivate them in their pursuit of academic achievement.