Return to Headlines


CONGRATULATIONS to the hundreds of Ankeny students who submitted recordings and especially to each of these fine young musicians who were selected!

OPUS honor choir students

OPUS honor choir students.

(View Larger)


ANKENY, Iowa (November 27, 2017) - This fall 43 Ankeny Community School District students, grades sixth through ninth, were selected for the 32nd Annual Opus Honor Choir Festival hosted by the Iowa Choral Directors Association. More than 3,000 students were nominated by their directors for 180 positions in each of the four Opus Honor Choirs. Judges made their selections by scoring a recorded audition from each nominated student. The 2017 Opus Honor Choirs performed on Thursday, November 16, at CY Stephens Auditorium in Ames. Congratulations to these outstanding young musicians and their directors: Lisa Kelsey and Mackenzie Walsh, Southview; Ben Joseph and Kourtlin Churchman, Northview; Jill Bjorklund and Adam Brown, Parkview; Lisa Evans and Elliott Stern, Prairie Ridge.


Southview students Lauren McEvoy and Sydney Stover each had the distinguished honor of being chosen as soloists for their concert, an incredible honor.

  • 5th/6th Choir:
  • Erica Espinoza (PV)
  • Abby Fickbohm (PR)
  • Jenna Freeseman (PV)
  • Sophie Giles (PR)
  • Carly Heuton (PV)
  • Cassandra Johnson (PV)
  • Tyson McLaws (PR)
  • Claudia Powell (PR)
  • Kelsey Pries (PR)
  • Levi Stember (PV)


  • 7th/8th Treble Clef Choir:
  • Laura Abrahamson (SV)
  • Alexa Brandmeyer (SV) 
  • Jemma Bullock (PV)
  • Taitum Coyle (PV)
  • Francesca Elia (SV)
  • Daniella Hills (PV) 
  • Jessica Hoang (PV) 
  • Darby Lee (PV)
  • Lauren McEvoy (SV)
  • Sydney Moberg (SV)  
  • Kate Moir (SV) 
  • Natalie Phillips (PV)
  • Avryn Schardt (SV)
  • Jaci Shrum (PV)
  • Sydney Stover (SV)
  • Ellie Young (SV)


  • 7th/8th Bass Clef Choir:
  • Brendan Grant (SV)
  • Cavan Jones (PR)
  • Alex Ladner (NV)
  • Elijah Pick (PV)
  • Luke Robie (PV)
  • Rai San Martin (PR)
  • Aiden Skow (PV)
  • Sam Stember (PV)
  • Gabe Wagner (PV)
  • Jonathan Walter (PV)


  • 9th Mixed Choir:
  • Morgan Christman (SV)
  • Noah Hackbart (SV)
  • Harrison Ingham (SV)
  • Kylie Knudten (SV)
  • Claire Sammons (SV)
  • Maya St. Clair (SV)
  • Marcus Ugolini (SV)

Photo Credits: Ben Joseph and Rebecca Griffin