Return to Headlines

Forty Ankeny Students Selected for OPUS Honor Choir

ANKENY, Iowa (November 27, 2018) - Forty Ankeny Community School District students, grades six through nine, were selected for the 33rd Annual Opus Honor Choir Festival hosted by the Iowa Choral Directors Association.  More than 3,000 students were nominated by their directors for 180 positions in each of the four OPUS Honor Choirs.  Judges made their selections by scoring a recorded audition from each nominated student.


Also, congratulations to the following students who had the distinguished honor of being selected as soloists: Gabe Wagner, Southview; Alex Ladner, Northview; and Colton Ferree, Prairie Ridge.


The students are directed by: Lisa Kelsey and Mackenzie Walsh, Southview; Ben Joseph and Kourtlin Pearson, Northview; Jill Bjorklund and Adam Brown, Parkview; Lisa Rehms and Elliott Stern, Prairie Ridge.


5th/6th Choir

Kaelin Black (PV)

Hunter Blessing (PV)

Jayden Clarkin-Frank (PV)

Madison Gates (PV)

Evelyn Huegel (PV)

Annabelle Miller (PV)

Madeline Miller (PR)

Nicholas Robie (PV)

Tyler Sickerson (PV)

Ethan Skow (PV)

Lily Timblin (PV)

Emma Wendel (PV)


7th/8th Treble Clef Choir

Gwen Briggs (PV)

Sophie Grodzicki (PV)

Lillyan Hill (PV)

Jessica Hoang (SV)

Cassandra Johnson (PV)

Hannah Pross (SV)

Hailey Woerdman (PV)


7th/8th Bass Clef Choir

Damin Churchman (NV)

*Colton Ferree (PR)

Tyler Gerth (SV)

Alex Jamtgaard (PR)

Michael Moretti(PR)

Luke Robie (SV)

Rai San Martin (NV)

Drew Taylor (SV)

*Gabe Wagner (SV)

Jonathan Walter (SV)


9th Mixed Choir

Wesley Behrens (SV)

Corbin Emminger (NV)

Jaiden Holt (NV)

Nikki Karpan (NV)

*Alex Ladner (NV)

Megan McGuire (SV)

Lauren McEvoy (SV)

Kate Moir (SV)

Avryn Schardt (SV)

Luke Scoular (SV)

Mason Wisecup (NV)


PR=Prairie Ridge Middle School

PV=Parkview Middle School

NV=Northview Middle School

SV=Southview Middle School

*Solo Finalist