Return to Headlines

State and Regional Champs!

History Bowl Champs

Ankeny High School History Bowl winners.


Individual winners

Students Jackson Porter, Kieran McCormick, and Zane Eason placed in the individual competition.


ANKENY, Iowa (March 7, 2019) - Ankeny High School wins their first-ever History Bowl State and Regional Championship. The team defeated schools from across Iowa and Missouri to take home the crown.


"The questions were extremely difficult, but the team fought a tough battle against Waukee High School to win the championship," said Nathan Coombes, coach.  "I am so proud of these students, Waukee defeated us last year on the last question and to get a rematch was fitting."


Students Kieran McCormick and Jackson Porter placed first and second in the varsity division and Zane Eason placed third in the JV division.  More than 30 of the top history students across the Midwest participated in the event.