Return to Headlines

2016 Central Sectional Track and Field Coach of the Year

(ANKENY, Iowa) January 23, 2017 - Ankeny High School coach Dennis Adamson has been named the 2016 Central Sectional Coach of the Year for girls' track and field by the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Coaches Association.  The Central section includes Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, and Wisconsin. 
The NFHS Coaches Association has an advisory committee, composed of a chair and eight sectional representatives.  The sectional committee representatives evaluate the state award recipients from the states in their respective sections and select the best candidates for the sectional award in each sport category.  The NFHS recognizes coaches at the state, sectional, and national level. 
The NFHS, which has been recognizing coaches through an awards program since 1982, honors coaches in the top 10 girls sports and top 10 boys sports (by participation numbers), and in one “other” sport that is not included in the top 10 listings.  Winners of NFHS awards must be active coaches during the year for which they receive their award. This year’s awards recognize coaches for the 2015-2016 school year.