Return to Headlines

Student-Athletes Sign National Letters of Intent

Ankeny High School students

(View Larger)


ANKENY, Iowa (May 3, 2018) - Twenty-six Ankeny High School student-athletes were honored with a National Letter of Intent Signing Day ceremony at AHS. The students were joined by family, friends, and coaches as they were recognized for having been offered collegiate athletic scholarships or preferred walk-on status.

During the ceremony, each student spoke about their time in high school, thanking parents, coaches, teachers, and administrators.  The guest speaker was Coach Dave Ewing, former Ankeny Head Wresting Coach.  He spoke to the students about leadership and hard work.

"I would like to thank and congratulate the student-athletes who declared their intentions to play at a college or university next year," said Brent Buttjer, AHS Activities Director. "Their hard work and perseverance have paid off and we are excited to watch them open the next chapter of their lives. A special thank you to the parents and coaches of these athletes. Without their commitment, none of this would be possible."

During the ceremony, two additional awards were presented.  Alex Robran was awarded the E. Wayne Cooley Recognition Award. This honor is given to a female athlete who reflects discipline, perseverance, character, superior athletic skill, leadership, academic achievement and citizenship.

Deaglan Riordan was presented the Bernie Saggau award. This honor recognizes a student who exemplifies a patriotic spirit, strong religious and moral convictions; living and professing qualities of honesty, integrity, and sportsmanship. This award is presented to one student every year in each high school in the state of Iowa.


Randy Daniels, Ankeny High School boys' tennis coach was also recognized for being named State Coach of the Year by the National Federation of State High School Associations.

Student-athletes who signed their national letters of intent included: 

Baseball Jayden Maifeld Iowa Central CC
Baseball Will Casel Indian Hills CC
Basketball Sydney Shadravan Grand View University
Basketball Ben Lyon Rockhurst University
Bowling Collin Runyan Iowa Central CC
Cheerleading Emma Oliver Mount Mercy University
Cheerleading Samantha Despotovich Drake University
Football Dayne Kajewski Wartburg College
Football Drew Hill Truman State
Football Azri Jackson Drake University
Football Tate Beardsley Grand View University
Rugby Colby Baugher Lindenwood University
Rugby Zoe Olson University of Northern Iowa
Rugby or Football Austin Espino Undecided
Soccer Laina Routson Truman State
Soccer Riley Whitaker University of Iowa
Soccer Alexis Legg Augustana University
Soccer Hailey Osburn Wartburg College
Softball Peyton Daugherty South Dakota State University
Softball Marina Smith Kirkwood CC
 Softball Kennedy Thomas Johnson County CC
 Track and Field Sydney Flatness Grand View University
 Volleyball Miranda Greathouse Grand View University
 Wrestling Spencer Anderson  Undecided
 Wrestling Killyan Green Grand View University
 Cross Country/Track Alex Robran University of MN - Duluth