Return to Headlines

Herbert Hoover Uncommon Student Award

ANKENY, Iowa (May 15, 2018) – The Hoover Presidential Foundation named Colton Pilch, Ankeny High School junior, one of the 15 Herbert Hoover Uncommon Students for 2018. 


The Herbert Hoover Uncommon Student Award recognizes and honors up to 15 Iowa high school juniors who propose and then accomplish a project of their own choosing and design. The program is unique in the fact that grades, essays, test scores, and financial need are not considered in the selection process. Instead, students submit a project proposal and two letters of recommendation. Colton’s project is entitled Galeforce of Games.


In June, the 15 finalists will meet in West Branch, Iowa to take part in educational activities and tour the Hoover Presidential Library-Museum and National Historic Site. The students will work on their projects over the summer and will return to West Branch on October 13 to make presentations about their projects to a selection committee of accomplished Iowans. Each of the 15 finalists will receive a $1,500 cash award at the completion of the program, and three of the students could earn an additional $5,000 scholarship each for a total of $6,500.


“The program invites Iowa high school juniors to identify a problem, design a solution, and articulate their vision for positive change,” said Linda Mullen Cronk, mother of 2010 Hoover Uncommon Student Sarah Cronk. “The students who are chosen then work to transform their ideas into actions and tangible results.”


“Each of us, no matter how humble our origins, no matter how limited our resources, can make a difference!” is the message and the legacy of Herbert Hoover. The Hoover Presidential Foundation supports new exhibits, scholarships, educational programs, grants, and other activities to showcase Hoover’s philosophy.


The next application deadline for the Herbert Hoover Uncommon Student Award is March 15, 2019. To apply, students must be juniors in an Iowa high school or home schooled program in the spring of 2018, with a high school graduation date of spring 2020. For more award information, please contact Delene McConnaha (319-643-5327).