Skip to content
November 11, 2022

Ankeny students receive top honors for All State Band, Chorus and Orchestra

Twenty-one students from Ankeny High School have attained the highest individual honor available to Iowa high school musicians by being selected as members of the All-State Band and Chorus, and Orchestra.

All-State Chorus: Natalie Jasso, Ava Little, Hannah Pross, Sarah Wieczorek, Nicholas Ambrosecchia, Carter Evans, Grant Miner, Gabe Wagner, Ingrid Dietrich, Ev Huegel, Lilian Monthei, Ellen Wieczorek, Charles Heuton, Julian Zubradt

All-State Band: Audrey Freese, Nick Robie, Grace Landmesser, Caleb Byrnes, Abby Stratton, and Sam Stember

All-State Orchestra: Jayda Archer

Alternates for the All-State Band: Jake Dalmer, Paige Ford, Allison Muehr

The 2022 Festival will celebrate the 76th anniversary of this prestigious event. District Auditions for the 278-piece All-State Band, 214-piece All-State Orchestra, and 601-member All-State Chorus were held Saturday, October 22, 2022, at Indianola, Le Mars, Hampton, Independence, Atlantic, and Washington. Approximately 17% of the students who audition are selected for membership in the All-State ensembles. Participants will rehearse in Ames on Friday and Saturday, November 18 and 19, and the Festival Concert will be presented to the public at 7:30 P.M. in Hilton Coliseum, Iowa State University, Ames, on Saturday evening, November 19, 2022. Iowa Public Television will record the concert for rebroadcast. Please check the IPTV website ( for the exact dates and times. This program is under the auspices of the Iowa High School Music Association and the Iowa Music Educators Association.

Directors of the Ankeny High School Band are Jennifer Williams and Kelly Weber. Ben Walters and Adam Brown are directors of the Ankeny Choral Music program.

AHS Band & Orchestra All State 2022

All-State Band and Orchestra: (L to R) Jayda Archer, Sam Stember, Abby Stratton, Grace Landmesser, Caleb Byrnes, Nick Robie, Audrey Freese


AHS Choir All State 2022

All-State Choir: Front (L to R): Gabe Wagner, Charles Heuton, Grant Miner, Nick Ambrosecchia, Carter Evans. Middle (L to R): Ava Little, Ingrid Dietrich, Ellen Wieczorek, Natalie Jasso, Sarah Wieczorek, Lilian Monthei. Back (L to R): Julian Zubradt, Ev Huegel, Hannah Pross