Skip to content
Our District

School Board

School Board Election Day

Tuesday, November 2
7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Find your polling location

2021 Ankeny School Board

Here to serve you: Members of the Ankeny Board of Education are elected at large for four-year voluntary terms; they receive no pay for their services. The Board of Education follows a governance model. In this process, the Board gives direction to the school district as to their priorities and goals, and the administration then develops the best procedures and practices to fulfill those goals.

E-mail the Ankeny Board of Education

  • You can e-mail all members of the Ankeny Board of Education at one time at In keeping with law and policy, any communication directed to the Board of Education will be answered by the board president. Individual board members may also forward any messages related to their work as part of the Board of Education to the board president for action.  In most cases, you should expect to hear from the board president within 2-3 business days of your outreach.
  • The Board Secretary is Jennifer Jamison, who also serves as Ankeny Community School District Chief Financial Officer. You can e-mail the Board Secretary at

A brief profile and contact information for each board member is presented below. The members of your current Ankeny School Board are:

Aaron Johnson
Aaron Johnson, President

Aaron and his wife, Rebecca, have four children; three that are AHS graduates and are in college, and one AHS grad that is a music teacher in Oklahoma. They have lived in Ankeny since 2000 when they moved to Iowa from Chicagoland. Aaron received his Bachelor’s in Communications from the Moody Bible Institute (‘94) and his Masters of Business Administration from Northwest Missouri State (’21). Today, Aaron is the Vice President of Marketing and Customer Strategy for Accumold, a high-tech manufacturing company located in Ankeny. Prior to his service to the Board of Education, Aaron has served on various committees and boards including the Ankeny Planning & Zoning Commission and the Ankeny Parks Board.

He is serving his third term with the School Board. ​

Served 2008 to 2011. Currently serving from 2014 to present; Term expires 2021.
(515) 556-4277

Amy Tagliareni

Amy Tagliareni, Vice President

Amy Tagliareni and her husband, John, have called Ankeny home for eleven years. They have one daughter, Erica, who is in seventh grade at Parkview Middle School. She is committed to helping Ankeny School District meet the needs of EVERY student, teacher, and staff member. Tagliareni holds a BS is public relations from University of Wisconsin-Whitewater and a MS in Sport Administration from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse. She is currently studying Web Development at the DMACC Ankeny Campus. Currently, Tagliareni serves as Assistant Executive Director of the non-profit Opportunity on Deck. She served vice president of the Terrace PTO and is currently on the executive committee of the Des Moines Marathon. She is excited to work with the district to ensure Ankeny is hiring great teachers and staff and taking care of an ever-growing and diversifying student population.
(515) 423-9672

Bohanna Headshot Sm
Deshara Bohanna, Board Member

Deshara Bohanna is an Arkansas native but has resided in Ankeny since 2008. She has a BA in Journalism/Communications from the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff but moved to Ames in 2004 to pursue higher education at Iowa State University. She currently owns and operates Design Fetish by Deshara, a company that provides luxury wreaths, decor and florals for commercial and residential clients. Her passion for community and youth lead her volunteer efforts with YESS (Youth Emergency Services Shelters), ASAP (After School Arts Program), Blank Children’s Festival of Trees, Habitat for Humanity and her church.

Deshara is excited to both learn and grow while offering perspective that will build and improve our Ankeny school district. “Being an advocate for teachers, students and parents is a great honor that I take seriously. I’m excited to use my voice to help close the gaps and create a stronger bridge into our educational future.”
(515) 314-5781

Katie Claeys

Katie Claeys, Board Member

Katie and her husband Michael have lived in the metro since 2002 and moved to Ankeny in 2012 because they wanted their children to attend Ankeny Schools. They have three boys: Brady, Charly and Jack. Katie graduated from Loras College (2000) with a BA in Elementary Education. She also has two Masters degrees: one in Curriculum and Instruction of Middle Level Education from UNI (2007) and a second in Educational Leadership from Drake University (2015). Katie currently serves as the Director of Teaching and Learning for Ballard Schools. She cares deeply about each child having access to a quality educational experience and governing a system committed to equity for all. She is excited to serve the community as a School Board member.
(515) 979-8595

Jim Ford

Jim Ford, Board Member

Jim and his wife, Joy, have lived in Ankeny since 1990. Their two children, Liz and Joe, graduated from Ankeny. They also have three grandchildren: Norah, Leo, and Ivy, who also live in Ankeny. Jim has a BA in Elementary Education and a Masters in School Administration from the University of Northern Iowa. Jim taught seven years and was an elementary principal for 26 years, with his last 22 years being in Ankeny, until he retired in 2012. Together, Jim and his wife have served in public education for 70 years. He is excited about the opportunity to give back to the community where he has lived and raised his family. He has the insight, educational background, passion and energy to help make a difference for our schools.

Serving since 2017; Term expires 2021.
(515) 783-4836

Lori Lovstad

Lori Lovstad, Board Member

Lori Lovstad and her husband, Kirk, are life-long Iowa residents and have lived in Ankeny since 2012. They have four children attending Ankeny schools; Bailey, Brooke, Kaedyn, and Beckett. Lori has a BS in Chemistry/Biology/Microbiology from Iowa State University and has been employed by Mercy Medical Center as a Medical Laboratory Scientist since 2000. She has been a volunteer in several local organizations, schools, and with the youth at her church. Lori is passionate about connecting students with new and exciting opportunities in career development with the Ankeny Community School District and promoting equality and equity for all students in our Ankeny family. She looks forward to serving the students and residents of Ankeny as the Board President this year and is excited for the growing future of our school district.

Serving since 2017; Term expires 2021
(515) 689-2291

Ryan Weldon
Ryan Weldon, Board Member

Ryan and his wife Regina have four children and have lived in Ankeny since 2010. After graduating high school from Beckman Catholic High School in 2002, he attended college at the University of Northern Iowa for a year and then moved to Des Moines. Ryan has a diverse career working in the insurance industry, co-founding a men’s fashion subscription box company, and now working for a digital marketing agency. He is currently attending Liberty University and will finish his bachelors in Leadership and Management in 2020. He also serves as the Music Director for Journey Church. Ryan is a disciplined purpose-filled leader, passionate about building strategic, relational solutions to complex problems. He is serving his first term on the board.
(319) 230-0428