Skip to content


November 8, 2021

All-State Band, Chorus and Orchestra

congratulations all-staters

Seventeen students from Ankeny High School have attained the highest individual honor available to Iowa high school musicians by being selected as members of the All-State Band and Chorus, and Orchestra.

Selected for the All-State Chorus: Ellen Wieczorek, Sarah Wieczorek, Blake Schumacher, Hannah Pross, Charles Heuton, Gabe Wagner, Sydney Stover, Carson Doss, Nicole Bellis, Grant Miner

Selected for the All-State Band: Jayda Archer, Audrey Freese, Clara Freese, Grace Landmesser, and Bennett Olkiewicz 

Selected for the All-State Orchestra: Philip Na, Sam Stember

Selected as alternates for the All-State Band: Lauren Jackson, Abby Stratton

The 2021 Festival will celebrate the 75th anniversary of this prestigious event. District Auditions for the 278-piece All-State Band, 214-piece All-State Orchestra, and 602-member All-State Chorus were held Saturday, October 23, 2021, at Indianola, Storm Lake, Hampton, Manchester, Atlantic, and Washington. Approximately 17% of the students who audition are selected for membership in the All-State ensembles. Participants will rehearse in Ames on Friday and Saturday, November 19 and 20, and the Festival Concert will be presented to the public at 7:30 P.M. in Hilton Coliseum, Iowa State University, Ames, on Saturday evening, November 20, 2021. Iowa Public Television will record the concert for re-broadcast. Please check the IPTV website for the exact dates and times. This program is under the auspices of the Iowa High School Music Association and the Iowa Music Educators Association.

Directors of the Ankeny High School Band are Jennifer Williams and Kelly Weber. Ben Walters and Adam Brown are directors of the Ankeny Choral Music program.

Philip Na 2021

Orchestra: Philip Na, 4 year member of the All-State Orchestra


All State Band 2021

Instrumentalists (L to R): Grace Landmesser, Clara Freese, Jayda Archer, Bennett Olkiewicz, Audrey Freese (not pictured; Sam Stember)


All State Choir 2021

All-State Vocalists: Front (L to R): Charles Heuton, Hannah Pross, Sarah Wieczorek, NIcole Bellis, Ellen Wieczorek. Row 2 (L to R): Gabe Wagner, Blake Schumacher, Sydney Heuton, Carson Doss, Grant Miner